Navigate Up
Sign In
Home | Contact A | A

 Employment & Volunteer Opportunities

Skip Navigation LinksGrenfell Campus / Student Services / Employment & Volunteer Opportunities

Employment and Volunteer Opportunities

SWASP

The Student Work and Service Program (SWASP), funded by the Provincial Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, was designed to reduce the debt load of student parents, and to offer a valuable work opportunity where learned skills could be put to use and new ones strengthened.

What does SWASP offer participants?

  1. A valuable work experience, applicable to their program of study and career objectives
  2. A tuition credit
  3. An opportunity to network; and to strengthen and develop skills
  4. Personal and professional development through workshops offered on resume, cover letter writing; interview tips; job search/networking; and more!

Who is eligible

Fall semester: funding is available to student parents enrolled at Memorial University.

Winter semester: funding is available to student parents enrolled at Memorial. (Should additional funding become available, this program will be available to non-parent students)

Spring Semester: Funding is available to both student parents and non-student parents (ie. ALL Memorial students are eligible)

Program Options:

Option A: 260 hours (full-time hours, only part-time students can apply);
$1400 tuition voucher, $1200 cash stipend
Non-Student parents can apply for this option only.

Option B:
100 hours (part-time hours, part-time and full-time students can apply);
$1200 tuition voucher OR $750 tuition voucher, $450 cash stipend.

 

 SWASP Positions

 

MUCEP Job Opportunities

Eligibility Requirements:
  1. I am an undergraduate student.
  2. I am registered in at least 3 credit courses during the Winter 2014 semester (if I drop a course, I am no longer eligible for a MUCEP position).
  3. I have a 60% or above CUMULATIVE AVERAGE or a 60% or above average in my LAST 10 COURSES. (As a first year student, you have attained a 60% cumulative average because of the admission average)
  4. I will not work more than 80 MUCEP hours this semester. I will complete only one of the following options during this semester:
    • one 80 hour position ($1053)
    • one 40 hour position ($527)
    • two 40 hour positions ($527 each)
 

 MUCEP POSITIONS

 
  • Bursar's Office Assistant

    Job Description:

    Updating travel database, rolling coin, photocopy, filing and other office duties as required.​


    Contact Name: Jim Brown
    Contact Phone: X6256
    Contact Email: jbrown@grenfell.mun.ca
  • Peer Tutors

    Job Description:

    Assist students with course-specific content; lead small group discussions; develop resource materials for work with students; report statistics to supervisor; refer to appropriate resources.​


    Contact Name: Lorna Payne
    Contact Phone: X6268
    Contact Email: lpayne@grenfell.mun.ca

Volunteer Opportunities

On-Campus Volunteer Opportunities

Click on the underlined, highlighted organizations for additional information.
Organization Name Contact Information
GCSU Clubs and Societies Matthew Brockel 637-6200, ext. 6169
mbrockel@grenfell.mun.ca
Grenfell Campus Student Food Bank Nicole Newell/Shanda Williams Nicole: 639-2590 (nnewell@grenfell.mun.ca)
Shanda: 639-6252 (swilliams@grenfell.mun.ca)
Student Services Debbie Janes 637-6232
djanes@grenfell.mun.ca

Community Volunteer Opportunities

Click on the underlined, highlighted organizations for additional information.
Organization Website Contact Information
Alzheimer Society of Newfoundland and Labrador www.alzheimernl.org Barbara Kennedy
709-639-3311
alzheimer_awarenesscoordin@nf.aibn.com
The Arthritis Society www.arthritis.ca/nl Steve Keats
709-579-8190
skeats@arthritis.ca
Atlanti-Con Science Fiction Festival www.atlanti-con.com Jeff Keeping
709-639-5050
jeff@atlanti-con.com
Twitter: @atlanti_con
NL WEST SPCA www.bayofislandsspca.ca Kim Fraser
709-785-2747
nlwestspca@gmail.com
Canadian Cancer Society www.cancer.ca Krista King
709-634-6542
westernregion@nl.cancer.ca
Canadian Diabetes Association www.diabetes.ca/get-involved/communitycategory/newfoundland-labrador/ Timothy Humphries
709-754-0953, ext. 22
timothy.humphries@diabetes.ca
Canadian National Institute of the Blind www.cnib.ca Dinah Durnford (dinah.durnford@cnib.ca)
or
Donna Byrne (donna.byrne@cnib.ca)
709-639-9167
Canadian Red Cross www.redcross.ca Judy Bond
709-634-4626
judy.bond@redcross.ca
Corner Brook Museum and Archives www.cornerbrookmuseum.ca George French
709-634-2518
info@cornerbrookmuseum.ca
Corner Brook Status of Women Council www.cbwomenscentre.com Paula Sheppard-Thibeau
709-639-8522
cbwomenscentre@gmail.com
Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of Canada www.ccfc.ca Kathy Power
709-579-3700 or 1-800-563-4843
kpower@ccfc.ca
WestRock Community Centre www.dunfieldpark.com Steve Huxter
709-634-4077 Ext. 2
steve@westrockcc.com
Easter Seals of Newfoundland and Labrador www.easterseals.nf.ca Jeff Young
709-634-4064
jyoung@easterseals.nf.ca
Family Outreach Resource Centre   Bonnie Randell
709-634-2316
forc@nf.aibn.com
Food Bank Network   Joy Connors
709-634-2655
foodbanknetwork@nf.aibn.com
Girl Guides of Canada www.girlguides.ca Linda Holwell-Tibbo
girlguideforlife@gmail.com
Junior Achievement Newfoundland and Labrador www.janl.org Shawn Adams
709-753-9533
info@janl.org
Kids Eat Smart Clubs www.kidseatsmart.ca Kailey Pauls
709-640-5704
kpauls@kidseatsmart.ca
NL Laubach Literacy Council www.nald.ca/nllc Margie Lewis
634-5081
laubach@nf.aibn.com
VON Corner Brook Branch www.von.ca Debbie Lewis
709-634-2042
debbie.lewis@von.ca
or
Elaine Fost
709-634-6736
elaine.fost@von.ca
Western Memorial Regional Hospital www.westernhealth.nl.ca Shelley Blackler
709-637-5369
shelleyblackler@westernhealth.nl.ca
The following list of organizations may or may not currently have volunteer opportunities in the Corner Brook area. Please contact them directly for more information.
Amnesty International www.amnesty.org John Fleming
709-753-3263
Canadian Parents for French NL www.cpfnl.ca Patricia Edwards
709-639-8988
tricia.edwards@hotmail.com
Humber Community YMCA www.humbercommunityymca.ca Lisa Osmond
709-639-1720
communityyouth.ymca@hotmail.com
MADD Canada www.madd.ca Karen Foley
709-634-6233
maddbayofislands@nf.aibn.com
NL Special Olympics www.sonl.ca Hope Wiseman
709-634-6221
cornerbrook@sonl.ca
Places of Worship
Various places of worship in Corner Brook. Click here for contact information.
Rogers Television www.rogerstv.com Amy Joy
709-753-7461
Schools – Elementary and Secondary
Various elementary and secondary schools in Corner Brook. Click here for contact information.
Senior’s Homes/Service
Various senior’s homes in Corner Brook. Click here for contact information.
St. John Ambulance Brigade www.sja.ca/NFLD Todd Warren
709-783-2910
or
709-632-9616
toddfwarren@hotmail.com

street address:

Grenfell Campus
Memorial University

20 University Drive
Corner Brook, NL
A2H 5G4
Canada

mailing address:

Grenfell Campus
Memorial University

PO Box 2000
Corner Brook, NL
A2H 6P9
Canada

email addresses:

For questions about the university:
info@grenfell.mun.ca

For questions about the website:
webadmin@grenfell.mun.ca

For technical support questions:
helpdesk@grenfell.mun.ca

telephone:

Switchboard: 1-709-637-6200

Student Recruitment: 1-888-637-6269

Registrar: 1-866-381-7022